Jump to: navigation, search

Arizona is a state located in the southwestern region of the United States. The capital and largest city of Arizona is Phoenix. The second largest city is Tucson. Arizona is the 48th state and last of the contiguous states admitted to the Union, achieving statehood on February 14, 1912.

Recently concluded elections

2012 Elections

Presidential Election

Electoral Votes: 11
Polls Closed at 9 p.m. EST

100% reporting

Candidate (Party) Pct. Popular
Mitt Romney Republican 54.2% 1,143,051
Barack Obama Democrat 44.1% 930,669
Gary Johnson (Libertarian) 1.4% 28,609
J Stein (Green) 0.3% 7,057

United State House of Representatives

Main Article: United States House of Representatives Elections in Arizona, 2012

District Candidate Party
District 1 A Kirkpatrick Democrat
District 2 R Barber Democrat
District 3 R Grijalva Democrat
District 4 P Gosar Republican
District 5 M Salmon Republican
District 6 D Schweikert Republican
District 7 E Pastor Democrat
District 8 T Franks Republican
District 9 K Sinema Democrat



July 21: Governor Jan Brewer says that she's looking to move the Arizona's presidential primary up to January 31, 2012. The primary elections in Arizona are scheduled on February 28, 2012 with early voting starting on February 2.

"Arizona is at the forefront of advancing solutions to national issues such as illegal immigration and border security, Medicaid spending and the fiscal crisis. So it only makes sense that our state be positioned to have its voice heard loud and clear when it comes to the presidential nomination process."