Jump to: navigation, search

Cyprus, officially the Republic of Cyprus, is a Eurasian island country in the Eastern Mediterranean, east of Greece, south of Turkey, west of Syria and north of Egypt. It is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea and one of its most popular tourist destinations.



July 11: Cyprus's defense minister and army chief quits after a munitions dump blast kills 12 people. The blast occured at a Greek Cypriot naval base where there is a seized Iranian weapons cache. The explosions devastated the Vassiliko power station which is Cyprus' largest which accounts for almost 50 percent of supply in the country.