Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Election, 2012

From ElectionsInfo.com
Jump to: navigation, search

The 2012 Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Election will be held on November 4, 2012 to elect the Himachal Pradesh Assembly. The current Assembly term would end on January 10, 2013.

The Bharatiya Janata Party is the current ruling party in Himachal Pradesh and the current chief minister is Prem Kumar Dhumal.

Important Dates

Himachal Pradesh goes to polls on November 4, 2012 in a single phase. The date was announced by Indian Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath at a press conference in New Delhi on 3 Oct 2012.

  • Issue of notification: October 10, 2012
  • Last date for making nominations: October 17, 2012
  • Scrutiny of nominations: October 18, 2012
  • Last date for withdrawal of candidature: October 20, 2012
  • Date of poll: November 4, 2012
  • Counting of votes: December 20, 2012
  • Date before which election process shall be completed: December 24, 2012


The counting for the polls would take place on December 20, 2012


There are 68 constituencies in Himachal Pradesh. 17 of the Assembly seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste and three for Scheduled Tribes.

  • Total no. of electors: 45,16,054
  • Total no. of polling stations: 7,252

Political Parties

Bharatiya Janata Party

The current chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal is the chief ministerial candidate for the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Indian National Congress

Three-time Chief Minister Virbadhra Singh is the chief ministerial candidate for the Congress party.

Security Measures

The Election Commission has announced that 9,000 central paramilitary forces personnel and 14,000 from state police will be deployed for the Gujarat Assembly polls.