Liberian General Election, 2011

Jump to: navigation, search

The Liberian General Election 2011 will be held on October 11, 2011. The runoff elections is scheduled to be held on November 8, 2011.

The Liberian Presidency, All seats in the House of Representatives and half of the seats in the Senate, will be up for election. The General Election will be overseen by the Liberian National Elections Commission (NEC).

Liberian Presidential Election

Incumbent President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf will seek a second term in office. She was renominated as Unity Party's presidential candidate in the 2011 election in the party's national convention on October 31, 2010. Sirleaf nominated Vice President Joseph Boakai as he running mate and is confirmed by the delegates.

The Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) nominated Winston Tubman as its presidential candidate and George Weah as the vice-president candidate.

Charles Brumskine of Liberty Party also announced his intention to run for the President's office. A meeting with Congress for Democratic Change (CDC) in Accra agreed for a coalition in the legislative elections. The deal was called off and Charles Brumskine chose Senator Franklin Siakor as his running mate.

Prince Johnson and Liberian Destiny Party's Nathaniel Barnes are also running for the President's office.


July 5, 2011: The campaigning for Liberian Presidential Election in October begins.