New Zealand General Election, 2011

Jump to: navigation, search

The New Zealand General Election, 2011 will elect members to the 50th New Zealand Parliament. The Election will be held on November 26, 2011.

All the 120 seats in the New Zealand House of Representatives will be up for election. 70 from single-member electorates covering the country, and the remaining 50 from party lists. 61 seats are required for majority.

Important Dates

Date Event
February 2, 2011 Prime Minister announces dates for 2011 General Election and Referendum
August 26, 2011 Regulated period for Election and Referendum advertising expenses begins
October 20, 2011 Dissolution of Parliament
October 25, 2011 Last day for registration of Parties/Logos with the Electoral Commission
October 26, 2011 Writ Day
October 27, 2011 Nominations for electorate candidates open
October 31, 2011 Deadline for registered political parties to bulk nominate their electorate candidates to Electoral Commission
November 1, 2011 Deadline for political parties to submit list candidates to the Electoral Commission
November 9, 2011 Advance voting & Overseas voting starts
November 25, 2011 Last date to enrol for election. Advance voting ends.
November 25, 2011 All advertising for election and referendum ends by midnight
November 26, 2011 Election Day. Polling between 9am-7pm.
December 10, 2011 Official results for Election and Referendum
December 14, 2011 Deadline for Judicial Recount

Political Parties

Party Leader Last Election Percentage
New Zealand National Party John Key 58 seats 44.93%
New Zealand Labour Party Phil Goff 43 seats 33.99%
Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand Russel Norman/
Metiria Turei
9 seats 6.72%
ACT New Zealand Don Brash 5 seats 3.65%
Maori Party Tariana Turia /
Pita Sharples
5 seats 2.39%
United Future New Zealand Peter Dunne 1 seats 0.87%


February 2, 2011: Prime Minister John Key announces dates for the 2011 General Election and Referendum