Jump to: navigation, search

Pakistan, officially the Islamic Republic of Pakistan is a sovereign state in South Asia. It has a 1,046-kilometre coastline along the Arabian Sea and the Gulf of Oman in the south and is bordered by Afghanistan and Iran in the west, India in the east and China in the far northeast.

Capital: Islamabad
Official languages: Urdu (national), English
Founder: Muhammad Ali Jinnah
President: Asif Ali Zardari (PPP)
Prime Minister: Yousaf Raza Gillani (PPP)



July 11: Pakistan says it is capable of conducting successful military operations without US aid. The statement comes a day after the US decides to suspend $800 million military aid to it.