Punjab Legislative Assembly Election, 2017

From ElectionsInfo.com
Jump to: navigation, search
  • April 2, 2017: The Election Commission of India has hit out at the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and said not to find fault in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMS) used in the Punjab elections.

The Legislative Assembly Elections in Punjab will be held in 2017. The current term of the Punjab Assembly will expire on 6 March 2012. The 2017 Assembly elections will be held to elect members of the Punjab Legislative Assembly and the State Government of Punjab.

Political Parties

The Congress Party is a major political party that will contest in the 2017 Assembly Elections. The party leadership has been reshuffled on November 27, 2015 with Captain Amarinder Singh being made as the chief of the Punjab Congress unit. Senior leader Ambika Soni has been made the chairperson of the party's campaign committee for the 2017 polls.