Singaporean Presidential Election, 2011

Jump to: navigation, search

The Singapore Presidential Election of 2011 was held on August 27, 2011. 2,153,014 local votes and 3,375 overseas votes were cast making it the biggest democratic exercise in Singapore's history. The Incumbent President S.R. Nathan was eligible for re-election as there are no term limits, but he didn't choose to do it. His term of office expired on September 1, 2011.

The 2011 Singapore Presidential Election will be the first election since 1993 election, where there will be a first multi-candidate race should all the declared candidates in this election be deemed eligible by the Singaporean Election Department.

Candidate Party Popular vote Percentage
Tony Tan Nonpartisan 745,693 35.20%
Tan Cheng Bock Nonpartisan 738,311 34.85%
Tan Jee Say Nonpartisan 530,441 25.04%
Tan Kin Lian Nonpartisan 104,095 4.91%


  • Dr Tan Cheng Bock - Former People's Action Party MP
  • Tan Kin Lian - Former NTUC Income CEO and erstwhile PAP Branch Secretary
  • Tony Tan Keng Yam - Former Deputy Prime Minister and Executive Director of the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation
  • Tan Jee Say - Former Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) member


July 2011

July 16: Tan Jee Say, resigns from Singapore Democratic Party. Announces that he is running for presidency. In a statement, Tan Jee Say announced: "I am stepping forward because many Singaporeans want a non-PAP President whose independence of the PAP is clear, obvious and cannot be in doubt. Only such a person can have the moral authority to fulfill the mission of Elected President which is to provide checks and balances on the PAP Government."

June 2011

June 15: George Yeo confirms that he is not running for Presidency.

June 1: Applications for Certificate of Eligibility to run in the race were made available

Mark Lee announces his candidacy.

Ooi Boon Ewe asks the Election Department to waive one of the constitutional requirements for the Presidency for him and announces his candidacy.

May 2011

May 29: Zainul declines to run for the Presidency

May 27: Former NTUC Income CEO Tan Cheng Bock announces candidacy

May 10: George Yeo declines to run for Presidency.