From ElectionsInfo.com
Jump to: navigation, search

Prime Minister: Recep Tayyip Erdogan

Turkey in 2011

  • June 20, 2011: The Justice and Development Party (AKP) won 49.9% of votes securing 326 seats. The Republican People’s Party (CHP), the founding party of Turkey, received 25.91% votes and won in 31 cities. The Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) came third with 12.99% votes and 53 seats. 36 independent candidates of the Labour, Democracy and Freedom Block, affiliated with the Peace and Democracy Party (BDP) won in the elections.
  • June 12, 2011: The Parliamentary Elections were held. Voter turnout of 86.7% was registered
  • February 9, 2011: The ruling Justice and Development Party (AK Party) is aiming for 58% of the national vote in the June 2011 elections.